Last night we celebrated cricket’s night of nights: The Allan Border medal. I will be recapping the night and the memorable moments that happened.

It started with the Test player of the year. The nominees were Mitchell Starc, Steven Smith and David Warner. But after a fantastic year, it was no doubt Mitchell Starc was the winner. He took fifty-two wickets in nine matches, including three five wicket hauls. He says this is format I want to exceed at, and I’ve still got a long way to come. Then we had the first inductee make his speech. The Tasmanian David Boon scored over 13,000 runs in his time secured his place into Australia Cricket’s Hall Of Fame. He made a lovely speech, thanking his young coach and family. He feels honored to be up next to the big names of Australia cricket. He wouldn’t give his life that he’s had back, and who would want to, if you had the life of David Boon.

Next was the ODI Player of the Year. The nominees were David Warner, John Hastings and Mitchell Marsh. But to nobody’s great surprise, David Warner was given the trophy, due to him scoring seven ODI tons in one calender year. Next they introduced the winner of Domestic Cricketer of the Year, Woman and Man. Meg Lanning was the winner for this award, because of her outstanding effort in the WBBL and playing for Victoria Spirit. The men’s nominees was between Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb and Cameron White. To me, I thought Peter Handscomb would win, but his great efforts were mainly international. Cameron White won and his second time in three years. The second Hall of Famer was Betty Wilson, an inspiration and legend of the game. She changed women’s cricket and absolutely loved the game. Her nephew, Kenny Wilson spoke on behalf of her. As I just mentioned, she loved the game in a way no one has before and it was great for her to get recognition for what she has done.

The t20 player of the year was next announced. The nominees were Shane Watson, Glenn Maxwell and Aaron Finch. And it was the retired Shane Watson who won after his great last game to try his team in the competition, scoring 124 runs. Then before the big awards, were the last two smaller ones. Betty Wilson Female Young Cricketer of the Year and Bradman Young Cricketer of the year. These awards went to eighteen-year-old Sophie Molineux and Hilton Cartwright. Then there was the final Hall of Famer inductee. The great man, Matthew Hayden.

Matthew Hayden thanked all his coaches and captains, and of course, his family. He also thought back of him listening to the radio and picturing the cricket in his mind, which got him started on the game. Oh yeah, then he did this. Yep.

So now the big ones. Who would win the Belinda Clarke medal? Meg Lanning, Elyse Perry or Alyssa Blackwell? Well, after yet another outstanding year, Meg Lanning has won her third Belinda Clarke medal. She averaged a half century and her second half to the year was remarkable.

The last medal for the night and the all-important one. The Allan Border medal. Would it go to David Warner, Steven Smith or Mitchell Starc? And the winner was… David Warner. The reigning medalist goes back-to-back and collects his second award of the night. He says he was a bit surprised about getting it, but after consistently get century after century, it was no wonder he got the big award in the end.

So I hope you enjoyed this recap of the 2017 Allan Border Medal. Make sure to leave a like and subscribe.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s